GCC Now logo

Compare · For VP Infrastructure & Applications, CIO, Platform Owner

ServiceNow Foundation vs Advanced vs Prime

Short answer

ServiceNow's three AI-native tiers differ mainly in how much AI can do on its own. Foundation covers AI skills and routine agents, Advanced adds agentic workflows, and Prime adds an autonomous AI workforce and net-new agents. Decide fit by tower, from your own usage.

Last reviewed Nov 2, 2026

Source: ServiceNow Docs, AI-native SKU overview, updated Sep 10, 2026. Your order form overrides any summary, including this one.

FactorFoundationAdvancedPrime
ServiceNow's description"AI skills, routine AI agents""Agentic workflows""Autonomous AI workforce"
What the AI doesTask-based help, with routine pattern recognition and categorizationWhole workflow steps, alongside usersAI specialists that make and carry out decisions on their own
AI skillsYesYesYes
AI agents, in the Docs wordingConfigure out of the boxConfigure out of the boxBuild net-new, from natural language in AI Agent Studio
Inbound MCPNot statedNot stated"Adds inbound MCP Server Console capability"
Good first questionWhich requests are simple and high-volume?Which workflows repeat end to end?Which role is ready for autonomy, with controls?

Things the table won't tell you

Assists are separate from tier names. ServiceNow Community (Jul 7, 2026) says a simple skill consumes one assist, and a complex agentic workflow can consume 25 or more, from a contracted pool on a 365-day burn-down. Heavy agent use can drain a pool quickly, so forecast assists alongside the tier decision.

Otto for Creator (formerly Now Assist for Creator) is a separate subscription, so check it if you plan to build. According to licensing advisers (Redress Compliance, Jun 24, 2026), not ServiceNow, legacy editions reached end of sale on Jul 1, 2026, with conversion at renewal.

Info-Tech Research Group (Apr 13, 2026) advises buyers to build their own cost models before committing to Prime.

How to decide by tower

  1. List what each tower actually runs today, by intent.
  2. Mark which uses need only skills, which need workflows, and which need autonomy.
  3. Forecast assists for each use.
  4. Make Prime a business case for the towers that need it. A platform-wide move is hard to justify on most estates.

We sell no licenses, and both partners are backed by ServiceNow Ecosystem Ventures, so weigh our view knowing that. Read the renewal guide for timing.

GCC Now™ is the ServiceNow Accelerator by ANSR × inMorphis, a joint venture for global capability centers (GCCs) and GBS organizations.

Related questions

Which tier builds new agents?

ServiceNow Docs says net-new agents are built at the Prime tier, using AI Agent Studio.

Does Foundation include any AI?

Yes. ServiceNow Docs says AI skills are available at every tier.

Talk it through with both leads.

By ANSR × inMorphis. A named lead from each firm joins your first call.